Along the Mountain Backroads

Day 168 of 365

For today’s adventures, I decided to abandon the Blue Ridge Parkway and explore the mountain backroads.  I hoped those routes would offer more of the rural scenes that I love to photograph, but I found the countryside to be even more beautiful than I expected.  I also found new photography challenges.  This flatlander isn’t accustomed to curvy mountain road with extremely narrow shoulders, so there were countless scenes that I didn’t shoot simply because I was too scared to stop.  But all the same, I came away with a number of keepers like this shot of a barn in Avery County.

Farm in Avery County

Tags: , , , ,

About Sheryl Long

Director of Teacher Education and Graduate Studies in Education Salem College Winston-Salem, NC

Leave a Reply

