Danger!

Day 128 of 365

After a nice visit home, I returned to Raleigh this evening.  I unloaded the car and decided to check the mail before dark.  I went through the main house to get to the front porch.  When I got to the front door, I found a hand-printed “Danger” sign taped to the door knob.  The carpenter and painter were beginning to work on the front porch when I left on Thursday, so I assumed they had probably painted the porch floor and wanted to make sure I didn’t walk on it.  While I thought sign was probably overselling it, I appreciated the note.  But when I opened the door and looked out, I realized  “Danger” was no exaggeration. 

Door open to reveal boards missing from porch

Tags: ,

About Sheryl Long

Director of Teacher Education and Graduate Studies in Education Salem College Winston-Salem, NC

Leave a Reply

